Pages Navigation Menu

Session Info


For the first time in recent memory, AFS will be holding a conference on the West Coast!  The Fall Conference will be at the Double Tree San Diego Mission Valley during the week of October 24, 2016.

The extreme drought in California has resulted in extraordinary water conservation and reuse measures, and, as we all know, this state leads the nation in new technology and regulations to address both air and water contamination.

October 24th will be devoted to Short Courses, and we are planning numerous technical tracks addressing such diverse areas as new developments in air and water filtration, membrane technologies, wastewater recovery and reuse, monitoring/instrumentation, filter manufacturing, and more, over the next two days.

Snehal Desai, Global Business Director, Dow Water & Process Water Solutions, will give a plenary lecture to open the Conference on Tuesday, and Mark Lambert, CEO of IDE Americas, Inc. will give a plenary Wednesday afternoon titled “The Carlsbad Desalination Plant; water supply security for a thirsty San Diego County.”

The Claude “Bud” Lewis Carlsbad Desalination Plant is a 50 million gallon per day seawater desalination plant located adjacent to the Encina Power Station in Carlsbad California.  IDE Technologies designed and is operating and maintaining the plant for 30 years.  Mark Lambert, CEO of IDE Americas, Inc. will lead a tour of the plant on Thursday, October 27.  The tour will be limited to 50 participants.

Be an active participant in the conference by giving a technical presentation!  Abstract submission is open!  New for the Fall Conference:  Technical presentations will 30 minutes which include 25 minutes of presentation and 5 minutes Q & A.  Oral presentations of 10 – 15 minutes will also be available.  Presenters who want to give a shorter presentation or have late breaking research can submit an abstract for an oral session.

We look forward to seeing you in San Diego in October!

Peter Cartwright, Cartwright Consulting, Co-chair
Thad Ptak, AO Smith, Co-chair